Der Ulmer Höhenweg

The sun has decided to show its face this past weekend and I am LIVING for it. The weather has been in the 40’s and 50’s with lots of rain and clouds. We’re transitioning from May into June and my Floridian blood has been yearning for some Vitamin D. I’m about to just buy myself a heat lamp like we had as kids for our pet lizards. In light of the sun shining, Ben and I decided to finish der Ulmer Höhenweg.

Always getting a different look at the Ulmer Münster along the Ulmer Höhenweg

We started this trail in February when we had off during our anniversary week. It’s a 12 kilometer path that leads you around Ulm allowing you to have great views of the city all while enjoying time in nature. The path also leads you near the 2 large forts in Ulm. It’s a gorgeous path for walking and biking! Ben and I started this walk in February, but called it quits a little more than half way through because of my feet. (I have a pending surgery to fix my feet and their inability to be in shoes for more than 3 hours…more on that later.)

On Sunday we decided it was time to finish this trek! My feet have been feeling better, which I think is due to the fact that I work at home now and only wear my Birkenstocks (am I German yet?). When we first did this hike in February I actually left my phone at home because I wanted some disconnect time. This time I brought it along for some photos.

To start, we took the straßenbahn (tram) to the Universität Hospital of Ulm. It’s clearly marked and you start out on a dirt path behind the hospital and overlooking Ulm. From this point, on a really clear day, you can see the Alps. There’s even a little sign at one point telling you where all the peaks are, including the Zugspitze (shoutout to my former home of Garmisch)!

The path is a constant mix of dirt and paved paths. It’s quite easy to get distracted on this walk as you constantly walk through gardens, past fortresses, and parks. You walk through and past Kaserne Wilhemsburg and Fort Albeck. These two fortresses were built in the 1800s and were used during World War I and World War II. Today they’re home to the offices of various businesses. When walking around Kaserne Wilhemsburg you’ll find various plaques throughout the area relaying some of the history. Fort Albeck hasn’t been as well taken care of, but is still fun to walk by and peek into the courtyard.

This sign at Fort Albeck warns walkers to beware of snakes in the vegetation

There are some parts that are “uphill” but overall, it’s an easy walk and enjoyable on a good weather day. When Ben and I go on hikes, we normally buy some sausages and some buns and then make sandwiches. We also bring water and radler with us. Once we find a nice spot with a good view we pop a squat and have ourselves a little picnic. This trail is perfect for that since it’s such a scenic route!

I love using my Garmin to track all my activities. Here are my stats from finishing the walk!

This past Sunday when we were finishing the walk, Ben and I cut down to the Friedrichsau and had our picnic there. We also brought along our American football and threw that for a while. To finish the walk this day took an hour and a half, but the total walk is about a 4 hour walk, depending on your pace. I love going on hikes and since Ulm doesn’t have any mountains around the area this trail is a great way to get outdoors. If you find yourself in the area, I would highly suggest a day doing the Ulmer Höhenweg! I find that many people find Ulm pretty, but don’t know what to do around the area. I hope to highlight some more really fun finds so that Germans and tourists alike can appreciate the beauty of my German home.

3 thoughts on “Der Ulmer Höhenweg

    1. Yes people bike it as well! There are some parts with stairs that one would have to probably carry their bike up. However, it’s definitely not a lot of stairs so it would be a short little cardio boost.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment